Group Leader

     Dr. Werner Braun, Prof.

                                 Werner Braun is Professor in the Department of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology at the University of Texas Medical Branch (UTMB) in Galveston, Texas. He received his academic and professional training at the ETH in Zurich, Switzerland, in the group of Dr. Kurt Wüthrich, who was awarded the Nobel Prize in Chemistry in 2002. Dr. Braun spent two years at Kyushu University, Fukuoka, Japan, as a research fellow of the Japanese Society for the Promotion of Science in the laboratory of Dr. N. Go. In 1984 he returned as an Oberassistent to Dr. Wüthrich’s laboratory at the ETH and was promoted in 1987 to Privatdozent for Biophysics. In 1995 he was recruited as Professor and core member of the Sealy Center for Structural Biology at UTMB Galveston. His research interests include the development of novel computational tools for the analysis of antigens of allergens and infectious diseases. As part of this research theme his research group established the 3D Structural Database of Allergens, SDAP, as a service for the allergy community. Besides the development of several computational tools, such as GETAREA, Episearch or Cross-React, he also participated in several collaborations of NIH-funded research projects on ragweed and cedar pollen, peanut, and house dust mite allergens. The software tools of the Braun group turned out to be also useful to understand the structural basis of immune recognition and guide the design of new immunogens for encephalitic and arthralgic alphaviruses. His research group demonstrated as a proof of principle that a broad immune protection can be achieved by a single antigen as a multivalent vaccine using sequence and 3D-structural analysis of Venezuelan equine encephalitis virus (VEEV) and Chikungunya (CHIKV). A 3D Mosaikcon protein, a fragment of the E2 protein that contains epitope residues of the diverse VEEV and CHIKV has a broad antibody response.

Group Members
Surendra Negi, Ph.D.

     Office Assistant: Rebecca Whitton

Former Group Members

Current Contact Information

Catherine H. Schein, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor (R) (2004-2006)
Associate Professor (R) (2006-2012)

Senior Fellow
Foundation for Applied Molecular
Evolution (FfAME)
PO Box 13174
Gainesville, FL 32604

Ovidiu Ivanciuc, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor (R) (2007-2013)

Wenzhe Lu, Ph.D.

Graduate Strudent (2008 - 2013)

University of Texas Medical Branch
Sealy Center for Structural Biology
& Molecular Biophysics
IMS Health

David Power, Ph.D.

Postdoctoral Research Fellow (2003 - 2011)
Research Scientist I (2011 - 2012)

University of Texas Medical Branch
Sealy Center for Structural Biology
& Molecular Biophysics
Research Scientist I

Deliang Chen, Ph.D.

Postdoctoral Research Fellow (2005 - 2011)

David Bowen

Research Assistant (2010 - 2011)

University of Texas Medical Branch
School of Medicine
Medical Student

Numan Oezguen, Ph.D.

Postdoctoral Research Fellow (2000 - 2010)
Research Scientist I (2010)

University of Texas Medical Branch
Internal Medicine-Endocrinology
Research Scientist I

Tzintzuni I. Garcia, Ph.D.

Graduate Student (2004 - 2009)
Postdoctoral Research Fellow (2009)

Program Faculty
Xiphophorus Genetic Stock Center
Texas State University - San Marcos
601 University Drive
419 Centennial Hall
San Marcos, Texas 78666-4616

Petr Danecek, Ph.D.

Postdoctoral Research Fellow (2008 - 2009)

Wellcome Trust Sanger Institute
Hinxton, Cambridge, UK

Shubhra Ghosh Dastidar, Ph.D.

Postdoctoral Research Fellow (2007)

Bioinformatics Institite (A-STAR)
Biopolis, Singapore

Milind Misra, Ph.D.

Postdoctoral Research Fellow (2006 - 2007)

Sandia National Laboratories
Albuquerque, NM 87123

Yuan Xu, Ph.D.

Computational Core Manager (1996 - 2006)

Bin Zhou, Ph.D.

Postdoctoral Research Fellow (2003 - 2006)

Genomics Institute of the
Novartis Research Foundation
10675 John Jay Hopkins Drive
San Diego, CA 92121

Gerd Menche, Ph.D.

Postdoctoral Research Fellow (2005)

Apotheke im Marktkauf   
Hafenstr. 2
25746 Heide, Holst

Wifredo Fernandez

Research Associate (2003 - 2004)

Medical School
Guadalajara, Mexico

Venkatarajan Mathura, Ph.D.

Graduate Student (1999 - 2002)
Postdoctoral Research Fellow (2002 - 2003)

Roskamp Institute
Sarasota, FL

Kizhake Soman, Ph.D.

Postdoctoral Reseach Fellow (1998 - 2002)

University of Texas Medical Branch
Assistant Professor

Ravindranath Garimella, Ph.D.

Postdoctoral Research Fellow (2000 - 2002)

University of Columbia
Columbia, MO

Larisa Kosynkina, Ph.D.

Postdoctoral Research Fellow (1998 - 1999)

University of Illinois
Chicago, IL

Hongyao Zhu, Ph.D.

Postdoctoral Research Fellow (1996 - 1999)

UT-College of Pharmacy
Austin, TX

Robert Fraczkiewicz, Ph.D.

Postdoctoral Research Fellow (1996 - 1998)

Simulations Plus, Inc.
Lancaster, CA

Ch. Mumenthaler, Ph.D.

Graduate Student (1994 - 1997)

Boston Consulting
Boston, MA

If you would like to have your contact information updated or if you would like us to create a link to your current professional website and/or email address, kindly send an email to Shirley Broz at and/or Werner Braun at with the requested changes.  Thank you!